Translating and Interpretation

I am currently trying to define what I mean when I use the term ‘Translation’ in  my research.

In translation studies translation seems to be associated with the written word and interpretation with spoken discourse.

However both seem to me inextricably intertwined.  Translation necessarily involves interpretation and visa versa.

As I am investigation translation in action, it’s process.  So I am adopting the  ‘translating‘ as a verb – inferring movement, potential and activity, reflecting it’s performativity, as opposed to using the term ‘translation’ which conjures up an end product.

I am interested in the concept of translation as dialogic and am interested in how others, particularly those practicing in the field see this dilemma?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

